Factory FMF/KTM rider Mike Brown and Red Bull KTM rider Taddy Blazusiak finished 2 and 4 at Round Five of the AMA GEICO EnduroCross Series in Everett, Washington, an event that saw five KTM riders finish in the top ten as the sport continues to grow in popularity.

Mike Brown made an easy transition from his heat into the main event. Taddy Blazusiak put in the second-fastest lap in practice then grabbed the holeshot in the third heat and took the win and first transfer position. He then laid down an impressive hot lap to win second gate pick for the main while Brown ended up with eighth gate pick after having trouble in the water section.

Brown came out hard and fast from the outside to be in the lead in the main at the first corner then settled down to build on his lead. But he made a mistake in the tenth lap in the rocks and Cody Webb closed the gap. In the final laps the two riders exchanged the lead several times but in the end it was Webb who took the glory. “I started making some mistakes towards the end of the race and I was really my worst enemy tonight,” Brown said. “I’m still happy to be on the box and gain some points towards the championship.”

The main race proved more difficult for KTM’s Polish rider who crashed and was at the tail end of the field at the end of the last lap. By the halfway point Taddy had advanced up to fifth place behind Colton Haaker. Then Taylor Robert went down in second place and Blazusiak and Haaker moved up the order. On his KTM 350 EXC-F Taddy went on to finish fourth.

Brown and Blazusiak are 1 and 2 in the points with seven points separating them and two rounds to go in the championship. The penultimate event is at Boise, Idaho on November 9, 2013.

Overall Results EnduroCross Everett
1. Cody Webb (USA), Beta
2. Mike Brown (USA), KTM
3. Colton Haaker (USA), Honda
4. Taddy Blazusiak (PL), KTM
5. Cory Graffunder (CAN), Husqvarna
Other KTM
7. Kyle Redmond (USA), KTM
8. Gary Sutherlin (USA), KTM
9. Geoff Aaron (USA), KTM

Standings EnduroCross after 5 of 7 rounds
1. Brown, 112 points
2. Blazusiak, 105
3. Taylor Robert (USA), Kawasaki, 90
4. Webb, 88
4. Haaker, 88